New South Wales

RDA Committees in New South Wales (NSW) are funded by the Australian Government and administered by the Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities.

There are 14 RDA Committees in NSW covering all areas of the state, including an RDA Committee for Sydney which covers the greater Sydney metropolitan area.

NSW RDA Committees work to drive regional economic development and unlock the economic potential of their regions. They are comprised of local leaders with broad and diverse skills and experience, as well as demonstrated networks within their region. Committee members are individuals who understand the challenges, opportunities and priorities within their local community.

In NSW, RDA Committees:

  • provide independent advice to government on critical issues affecting their region,
  • collaborate with relevant stakeholders to identify economic opportunities and leverage private and public sector investment to the regions,
  • connect regional businesses, councils and industry sectors with international trade partners, financial markets and potential investors,
  • work closely with community leaders to identify priority activities that will drive regional economic development,
  • provide assistance to local communities to identify funding sources and develop project proposals to support economic growth, and
  • promote awareness of government programs in the RDA community.